Outside the Box Thinking Number 1

26 Nov

I have realized that I have been marketing my book, “The Rise and Fall of T. John Dick” completely wrong. A keen study of movie commercials has alerted me to the fact that they have one thing in common – they never refer to the item they are attempting to foist upon the public as a movie. There is, in marketing terms, no such thing as a movie. It is a movie event. As a consequence, and in a display of outside the box thinking that would make T John Dick proud, I will be describing my latest novel, “The Rise and Fall of T. John Dick” as a “book event.” In the unlikely event that sales fail to surge in response to such a bold move, I will resort to calling it “the can’t miss printed word event of the holiday season.” Which, of course, it is.

It’s bound to work, eventually.

Leave a Reply

