Banned – The Management Secrets of T. John Dick

2 Oct

BannedIn a controversial move that is thought to be an industry first, The Management Secrets of T. John Dick has been banned by it’s author. That’s right, I’m banning my own book. Effective immediately, The Management Secrets of T. John Dick will not be available at the Barnes & Noble website (except the e-book edition for Nook).

Those who find it incredible that an author would ban his own book are invited to check out the Barnes & Noble website for themselves. It’s not there, see?

Why am I doing this? Well, amid the publicity for Banned Books Week, which has just finished, I couldn’t help but notice how many classics have been banned by someone at some time or another. The Great Gatsby, Women in Love, To Kill a Mockingbird, Captain Underpants … it’s a long list. As a literary giant, I feel that my books certainly deserve to be banned at least as much as them, and if nobody else is going to do it, I’ll just have to do it myself.  Great authors are self-publishing these days; self-banning seems like a logical extension of the trend.

Of course, I’m not going to take this lying down. I’m outraged at my crude and heavy-handed attempt at censorship of my work. I will not be silenced by the abhorrent tactics of Philistines like me. As I fight this injustice, I appreciate your messages of support. Together we must take a stand against my all-out assault on free speech and artistic expression.

If we don’t stop this now, what will be next to be banned? The Rise and Fall of T. John Dick? I wouldn’t be at all surprised.

One Response to “Banned – The Management Secrets of T. John Dick”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Banned in the UK – Or be careful what you wish for! | Augustus Gump, Literary Giant - October 15, 2013

    […] October 2nd, I announced that I had taken the unusual step of banning my own book, The Management Secrets of T. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

